Skip to content

Teaching Heritage

Board of Studies NSW

Dept House Banner
Contact Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size


List of the Governors of New South Wales

Griffin, R. & Toy, A. et al, Government House Sydney 1997
The Governors of New South Wales

1788-1792 Captain (later Vice-Admiral) Arthur Phillip, RN
1795-1800 Captain John Hunter, RN
1800-1806 Captain Philip Gidley King, RN
1806-1808 Captain (later Vice-Admiral) William Bligh, RN
1810-1821 Colonel ( later Major-General) Lachlan Macquarie
1821-1825 Major-General Sir Thomas Makdougall Brisbane, Bart. KCB
1825-1831 Lieutenant-General (later Sir) Ralph Darling
1831-1837 Major-General Sir Richard Bourke, KCB
1838-1846 Sir George Gipps, Kt Bach.
1846-1855 Sir Charles Augustus FitzRoy, KCH, KCB
1855-1861 Sir William Thomas Denison, KCB
1861-1867 Sir John Young, Bart. PC, KCB, GCMG (later 1st Baron Lisgar)
1867-1872 Earl of Belmore (Sir Somerset Richard Lowry-Corry), PC Ireland, GCMG
1872-1879 Sir Hercules George Robert Robinson, GCMG (later Baron Rosmead)
1879-1885 Lord Augustus William Frederick Spencer Loftus, PC, GCB
1885-1890 Baron Carrington (Charles Robert Wynn-Carrington), PC, GCMG (later Marquess of Lincolnshire)
1891-1893 Earl of Jersey (Victor Albert George Child Villiers), PC, GCMG
1893-1895 Sir Robert William Duff, PC, GCMG
1895-1899 Viscount Hampden (Henry Robert Brand), GCMG
1899-1901 Earl Beauchamp (William Lygon), KCMG
1902-1909 Admiral Sir Harry Holdsworth Rawson, KCB
1909-1913 Baron Chelmsford (Frederic John Napier Thesiger), GCMG (later Viscount Chelmsford)
1913-1917 Sir Gerald Strickland, Count della Catena, KCMG
1918-1923 Sir Walter Edward Davidson, KCMG
1924-1930 Admiral Sir Dudley Rawson Stratford de Chair, KCB, MVO
1930-1935 Air Vice-Marshal Sir Philip Woolcott Game, GBE, KCB, DSO
1935-1936 Brigadier-General the Hon. Sir Alexander Gore Arkwright Hore-Ruthven, VC, GCMG, CB, DSO
  (later Lord Gowrie of Canberra and Dirleton)
1936-1936 Admiral Sir David Murray Anderson, KCB, KCMG, MVO
1937-1945 Baron Wakehurst (Captain the Rt. Hon. John de Vere Loder), KCMG
1946-1957 General Sir John Northcott, KCMG, KCVO, CB, KtStJ
1957-1965 Lieutenant-General Sir Eric Winslow Woodward, KCMG, CB, CBE, DSO
1966-1981 Sir Arthur Roden Cutler, VC, AK, KCMG, KCVO, CBE
1981-1989 Air Marshal Sir James Anthony Rowland, AC, KBE, DFC, AFC
1989-1990 Rear Admiral Sir David James Martin, KCMG, AO
1990-1996 Rear Admiral Peter Ross Sinclair, AC
1996- The Hon. Gordon Jacob Samuels, AC

Contact Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size